Book Feature: Good Intentions, Bad Consequences by Phillip Nelson

 

Title: Good Intentions Bad Consequences: Voters’ Information Problems
Author: Phillip Nelson
Publisher: AuthorHouse
Genre: Social Science/Sociology
Format: Ebook

 

 

A new approach to understanding voter choice with important implications. There is a substantial class of voters who would like to do “good” but ignore important consequences of their attempts to do so—naïve altruists. The book both shows why such a class exists and tests the implications of that group’s behavior in a setting where other voters are self-interested, others are traditionalists, and imitation plays a big role in voter choice. The book also looks at the policy implications of such behavior accepting as desirable, but not fully achievable, the democratic ideal in which sufficiently informed citizens are given equal weight in political choices. Naïve altruists ignore the anti-growth consequences of redistribution from the rich as a class to the poor as a class. That ignorance produces too much of that redistribution in terms of the democratic ideal.

Phillip Nelson has specialized in two fields. The first is information economics in which he has produced seminal work in consumer economics. The second is public choice in which he has written many articles and the book, “Signaling Goodness.” This book melds these two fields producing new insights about voter information problems. He has spent a lifetime teaching graduate courses in these specialties and microeconomics theory at Binghamton University, Columbia University, and the University of Chicago.

Monday, December 3

Guest blogging at From Paperback to Leatherbound

Wednesday, December 5

Guest blogging at A Title Wave

Thursday, December 6

Guest blogging at Read Between the Ink

Friday, December 7

Interviewed at Pump Up Your Book Club

Monday, December 10

Guest blogging at Lover of Literature

Wednesday, December 12

Guest blogging at Straight From the Author’s Mouth

Thursday, December 13

Guest blogging at Confessions of an Eccentric Bookaholic

Friday, December 14

Guest blogging at Fiction to Fruition

Monday, December 17

Book reviewed at She Writes

Wednesday, December 19

Interviewed at The Writer’s Life

Thursday, December 20

Guest blogging at The Revolving Bookshelf

Monday, December 24

Guest blogging at As the Pages Turn

Tuesday, December 25

Guest blogging at The Dark Phantom

Thursday, December 27

Book reviewed at C’est La T

Friday, December 28

Guest blogging at My Bookish Pleasures

Monday, January 7

Guest blogging at Read Between the Ink

Tuesday, January 8

Guest blogging at The Zen Reader

Wednesday, January 9

Guest blogging at I’m Shelf-ish

Thursday, January 10

Guest blogging at Inkslinger’s Opus

Monday, January 14

Book reviewed at Review From Here

Tuesday, January 15

Guest blogging at All Inclusive Retort

Wednesday, January 16

Guest blogging at Write and Take Flight

Thursday, January 17

Guest blogging at Fiction to Fruition

Friday, January 18

Guest blogging at The Zen Reader

Tuesday, January 22

Book reviewed at Bent Over Bookwords

Wednesday, January 23

Guest blogging at Carpe Librum

Thursday, January 24

Guest blogging at Voodoo Princess

Friday, January 25

Guest blogging at Harmonious Publicity

Monday, January 28

Book reviewed at A Book Lover

Tuesday, January 29

Guest blogging at The Literary Nook

Wednesday, January 30

Guest blogging at Book Marketing Buzz

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s